One Amazing Thing: Recipe for Rest

Okay, so again today’s thankfulness will consist of more than one thing. Oops. Well, there’s no such thing as being too thankful and I realize I’ve missed a few days of posting this week. But these items should make up for that because I was thankful for them every day this week. Without them, I would have just had the stomach bug. With them, the sickness was slightly less annoying.

1. I guess I’ll start my list with my thankfulness for a comfy couch, seeing as that’s where I spent most of my time this week. And for pillows and soft, fuzzy blankets. I’m sure this sounds incredibly silly, but when you feel bad the simplest comforts make the biggest difference.

2. With the seemingly endless days of being “quarantined” I am thankful for Lord of the Rings–all three extended editions–and I confess, Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel. I know that’s ironic for someone who refuses to listen to Christmas music until December. Nonetheless, I may have watched three or four of them. Oh and let’s not forget The Chronicles of Narnia. Tolkien and Lewis–are you seeing a trend here?

3. Oh and thank the Lord for Ginger Ale and Saltines and sweet friends who checked on me. You know, this is also one of those cases where I’m particularly thankful to still live at home. My parents were kind enough to bring soup and make sure I was resting enough (I have a tendency to get antsy when I have to sit still for long periods of time).

Thank you, Lord, for all of these things. Not many people have the blessings of kindness from family and friends, a comfy couch and pillows, Ginger Ale and Saltines or movies–even on a day when they’re not sick. Thank you for giving me the time to rest and freeing up a lot of time to spend with you.

One thought on “One Amazing Thing: Recipe for Rest

Leave a Reply

